NFU Ontario

Who we are

Home »  About »  Who we are

The National Farmers Union – Ontario is the only voluntary farm organization, which is committed to:

  • ensuring family farms are the primary unit of food production;
  • promoting environmentally-safe farming practices;
  • giving farm women equal voice in shaping farm policy;
  • working for fair food prices for both farmers and consumers;
  • involving, educating and empowering rural youth for a better future;
  • building healthy, vibrant rural communities;
  • ensuring an adequate supply of safe, nutritious food for Canadians.

The family farm is the cornerstone of the system that provides safe, nutritious food to Canadians. City people, as well as farmers, have a stake in it. The National Farmers Union – Ontario is unique among farm organization in working for people’s interests against corporate control of our food system.

The National Farmers Union is made up of farm families who share common goals. Every member of the farm family – including the farmer and their spouse and children, ages 14 to 21 – are full voting members of the Union. This structure recognizes that every family member contributes to the farm by working on it directly, or indirectly through off-farm employment.

Associates are a valued part of the National Farmers Union family as well. Associates are non-farmers who understand that food issues are everyone’s concern and who want to help family farmers build a sustainable and nutritious food system in Canada.

The National Farmers Union is comprised of eight regions across the country. Ontario is known as Region 3 in the national context. The NFU–O has 8 elected council positions including a Coordinator/national board member, a Women’s Advisor, a Youth Advisor, 2 members who also sit on the national board, and 3 councilors at large.

2017-2018 NFU-O Board

Emery Huszka NFU-O President/R3 Coordinator 519-692-4892
Tony Straathof National Board Member/Treasurer 613-587-4343
Don Ciparis National Board Member 519-785-0001
Dodie Ellenbogen Region 3 Women’s Advisor 613-806-6936
Stephen Laing Regional Council Member 613-476-2391
Marcelle Paulin Regional Council Member/Vice President 807-977-1631
Paul Dejong Regional Council Member 519-923-9777
Martin Boettcher Region 3 Youth Advisor 519-292-6085